JU and DME Law School Collaborate to Host International Conference on Disability Rights and Social Justice

The University of Jammu has partnered with Delhi Metropolitan Education (DME) Law School, Noida, to organize an international conference titled “Championing Inclusivity: Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Disability Rights and Social Justice.” The event, supported by the Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala, and the Rotaract Club of Delhi Metropolitan Education, took place in the hybrid mode today.

The aim of the conference was to empower persons with disabilities by addressing the legal, social, and environmental factors required to create inclusive and equitable society. The Chief Guest for the inaugural was Prof. Anil Sahasrabudhe (Chairman, NETF; Chairman, Executive Committee NAAC; & Chairman, NBA), while Mr. Nipun Malhotra, (Co-founder and CEO, Nipman Foundation; & Founder, Wheels for Life) was the Guest of Honour. Three faculty members of the University of Jammu were invited panelist for the prestigious conference and participated in deliberations to explore the intricate intersectionality of identities and achievement of disability rights.

Prof. Sarika Manhas, Coordinator, Disability Initiatives, JU chaired the technical session on ‘Charting paths: International perspectives on disability rights, future of Indian legislation in the UNCRPD era, and humanitarian principles’. Dr. Seema Rohmetra, Associate Professor, The Law School, JU chaired the technical session on ‘Bridging the gap: Implementing legal frameworks for inclusive practices’. Dr. Hema Gandotra, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, JU chaired the technical session on ‘Empowering inclusivity: Advocating for rights and dignity’. The collaboration between JU and DME, Noida was facilitated by the office of Coordinator, Disability Initiatives, JU.

 Around 80 technical papers were presented in the conference in hybrid mode (offline and online both). The conference was attended by more than 200 academicians, educators, activists, professionals and students. Awards for best papers were also given in different categories.