Molecular Taxonomy hands on training concludes with a take home message on tress free education at Botany Department, JU

Principle Chief Conservator of Forest, HoFF and chairman J & K biodiversity council, Sh Roshan Jaggi, presided over as the Chief Guest of the valedictory function of Hands on Training-cum-workshop on Molecular Taxonomy organized by Department of Botany in collaboration with Malaviya Mission Teacher Training Centre (MMTTC), University of Jammu under RUSA-II. The workshop was inaugurated on 5th of February, 2024 wherein participants from various institutes like University of Jammu, Central University of Jammu, SKUAST-Jammu, Cluster University, Jammu Baba Ghulam Shah Badshah University, Rajouri, and Akal University, Talwandi Sabo, Bathinda (Punjab) and from different colleges participated and were benefited by the expert views and hands on training by the experts Dr. Ritesh Kumar Chaudhary and Dr. Ashawni from Agharkar Research Institute and Savitribai Phule Pune University, respectively.

During his address, Sh. Jaggi congratulated Prof. Susheel Verma, Professor & Head of the Department of Botany, for organizing this unprecedented event in the University. He emphasized the importance of latest technologies like molecular tools in taxonomy and shared valuable insights about the biodiversity of Jammu and Kashmir. Furthermore, he emphasized on the pivotal significance of molecular biology on conservation of the species. Mentioning PM’s flagship programme Sikhsha Per Charcha, Mr Jaggi said that stress-free education can help in imparting education in a better way.

Earlier, Prof. Susheel Verma, welcomed the chief guest and expressed gratitude to all dignitaries, guest speakers, and delegates for participating in the workshop with a great enthusiasm. Prof. Veenu Kaul introduced chief guest to the audience and elaborated that how participants from various institutes were exposed to hands on training on molecular science during the workshop. Among others, Prof. A. K. Koul, Prof. R. N. Gohil, Prof. Yash Pal Sharma, Prof. Veenu Kaul, Dr. Sikander, Dr. Geeta, Dr. Skarma, Dr. Romika, Dr. Sapna, Dr. Abhishek and Dr. H. C. Dutt, Mr. Nitan were also present during the occasion.

The event was co-ordinated by Purnamrita and vote of thanks was delivered by Mr. Ranjit Kalra, Deputy Director MMTTC, University of Jammu.