Post Graduate Department of Physics

About the Department:-

Established in 1967
Established in 1967

The Department of Physics was established in 1967 and is one of the prestigious departments of the University of Jammu. It offers four specialization courses at the Master's Degree level (Solid state Physics, High Energy Physics, Nuclear Theory and Electronics). Besides it runs M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmes at the research level. The admission in all courses of study is done strictly on the basis of merit. The department has a long tradition of world class research in the field of High energy Physics , X-ray Crystallography, Crystal Growth and materials Research, Nuclear Theory, Electronics and Spectroscopy. The Department is also involved in international Collaborative experiments and is liberally funded by the national funding agencies. The Department is well equipped with necessary instrumentations for pursuing research.  Each of the research laboratories are equipped with state of art research facilities. The High Energy Physics group of the Department of Physics has been collaborating in various front line experiments based at CERN (European Centre for Nuclear Research), Geneva, Switzerland since 1985, at Fermilab and Brookhaven, USA, Compressed Baryonic Matter (CBM) experiment at the FAIR facility at GSI, Darmstad in Germany. As a part of the ALICE Collaboration, HEP group is also a part of a worldwide distribution network of the computing resources for data analysis (the LHC GRID) as a TEIR 3 center.

The X-ray Crystallography group of the Department is also a part of a collaborative research work with several Indian institutes/universities and also with Harvard University, Washington DC in the US. There is Diffractometer facility funded by the DST. The Crystal Growth group also is a part of the collaborative effort with some universities in UK and India.

A common computer facility has been created under the FIST support. Our current configuration in FIST Lab is twelve Windows 7 machines with various software and two monochrome printers. Access to the campus network and to the Internet is provided by a complete campus 802.11a/g wireless network by the Directorate of IT services of the university. The Department has creating a new High Performance computing lab which is already sanctioned under the FIST program which will have a 32 Node Computing Facility.

The department has also created facilities for materials synthesis and characterizations like powder XRD, UV-Vis-IR Spectroscopy, Electrochemical workstation, Thermal Evaporator, etc.

Name Designation Qualification Specialization Contact Info.
Prof. Naresh Padha Dean, Academic Affairs/ Professor M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D Optoelectronics E-mail: Mobile No.: 9419182875
Prof. Rajni Kant Director, College Development Council / Professor M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D, Post-Ph.D. Condensed Matter Physics E-mail: rkant.ju@gmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419194375
Prof. Anju Bhasin Professor M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D., Post-Ph.D. Experimental High Energy Physics (Working in ALICE & CBM collaborations) E-mail: EPABX: Mobile No.: 9419181423
Prof. Vivek Gupta Professor M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D Condensed Matter Physics (X-ray Crystallography of Organic, Organometallic molecules) E-mail: EPABX: Mobile No.: 9419102467
Prof. Sanjeev Singh Sambyal Professor M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D Experimental High Energy Physics (Working in ALICE & CBM collaborations) E-mail: EPABX: Mobile No.: 9419183686
Prof. Arun Bharti Professor & Head M.Sc,M.Phil, Ph.D Theoretical Nuclear Physics (Nuclear Structure and Nuclear Reactions) E-mail: EPABX: Mobile No.: 9419134355
Prof. K. K. Bamzai Professor M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D Experimental Solid State Physics / Crystal Growth & Characterization / Materials Research E-mail: kkbamz@yahoo.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419134629
Prof. Ramni Gupta Professor M.Sc, NET, Ph.D Experimental High Energy Physics (QGP Physics, Fluctuations study (Intermittency) E-mail: Ramni.Gupta@cern.chEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419191509
Dr. Rani Devi Associate Professor M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D Nuclear Theory (Microscopic Nuclear Structure Theory and Nuclear Density Functional theory) E-mail: EPABX: Mobile No.: 9469749946
Dr. Sandeep Arya Assistant Professor M.Sc, NET, Ph.D Electronics and Materials Science (Nanomaterials for Sensing and Energy applications) E-mail:, Mobile No.: 9419156254
Dr. Rajendra Nath Patra Assistant Professor MSc, NET, PhD, Post-Doc Experimental High Energy Physics and QGP study, Silicon and Gas detector technology E-mail:, rajendrapatra07@gmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9126650330
Er. Anik Gupta Scientist G/Director Centre for IT Enabled Services and management B.E.(Electronics and Electrical communication) Electronics Instrumentation and Detector Technology E-mail: EPABX: Mobile No.: 9419183235
Er. Sanjay Mahajan Electronics Engineer B.E (Electronics & Communication High Energy Physics E-mail: EPABX: Mobile No.: 9419141358
Dr. Saroj Kanta Nayak Programmer B.E (Electronics & Communication) High Energy Physics E-mail: EPABX: Mobile No.: 9419209752