Established in 1962
Established in 1962

The Department of Chemistry, established in 1962, has since emerged as one of the leading science Departments of the University of Jammu. Set up with a meager strength of faculty members, the Department now has six Professors, one Associate Professor and one Assistant Professors, besides non-teaching staff. All the faculty members have excelled in their respective specialization in teaching as well as in research.

The students during their stay in the department are given rigorous training to meet the growing challenges in various sectors. Many of them are serving in industry, atomic energy establishments, as faculty members in Universities and Colleges and some have even excelled in administrative services. Based upon academic achievements of faculty members both nationally and internationally, the Department of Science and Technology adjudged the Department for funding under FIST (level-1) Programme & PURSE Programme to pursue research in the thrust areas. The Department has also been identified by the University Grants Commission for SAP Programme. Along with academic achievements, the department has also strengthened instrumentation and other facilities.

Name Designation Qualification Specialization Contact Info.
Prof. H.N. Sheikh Professor & HOD M.Sc., Ph.D Coordination Chemistry, Coordination Polymers, Material Chemistry, Nanomaterials E-mail: hnsheikh@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419148792
Prof. Meena Sharma Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D Material Science, Solution Chemistry E-mail: mlakhanpal89@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419184645
Prof. S.K. Pandey Professor M.Sc., Ph.D Dithiophosphate Chemistry, Heterometallcyclophosphazene Chemistry, Flourine Chemistry pertaining to the Synthesis of CFC's Alternatives & Electrochemical Fluorination, Phosphazene Chemistry, Metallo-orgamic Chemistry E-mail: kpsushil@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419147679
Prof. Kamal K. Kapoor Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D Organic Synthesis, Green Chemistry, Synthesis of Un-natural Amino Acids, Medicinal Chemistry E-mail:; kamalkka@gmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419134807
Prof. Satya Paul Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. Heterogeneous catalysis, Green chemistry, Synthesis of Bio-active Heterocycles E-mail: paul7@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419147677
Prof. Devinder Singh Sambyal Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. Solid State and Materials Chemistry, Perovskite Oxides, Ruddlesden-Popper Phases, Spinal and Inverse Spinel Ferrites, Pyrochlores E-mail: drdssambyal@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419244710
Dr. Monika Gupta Associate Professor M.Sc, Ph. D Organic Chemistry, Heterogeneous Catalysis, Green Chemistry, Ionic Liquids, Synthesis of Bioactive Heterocycles E-mail: monika.gupta77@rediffmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419623841
Dr. Ashwani Kumar Assistant Professor M.Sc., Ph.D Solution Chemistry, Biomolecules in Solutions E-mail: ashwani.kalsi@gmail.comEPABX: Mobile No.: 9419860841