

Jammu, 14th June, 2023

The Department of Students Welfare, University of Jammu paid floral tributes to Brig. Rajinder Singh, MVC on his Birth Anniversary. On the occasion, Dean Students Welfare, Prof. Prakash Antahal informed that the Department of Students Welfare is going to install a life size Bust Sculpture of Brig. Rajinder Singh at a prominent location near Brig. Rajinder Singh Auditorium as a mark of reverence to this braveheart of Duggar Land and this will be a source of inspiration for the young students. The sculpture has been created by Mr. Jaswinder Singh, an alumnus of Display Your Talent.

<u>Brigadier</u> Rajinder Singh Jamwal, <u>MVC</u>, also remembered as the Saviour of Kashmir, was an officer in the <u>Jammu and Kashmir State Forces</u>. He briefly served as the Chief of Staff of State Forces and died fighting during the <u>First Kashmir War</u>. Brig. Rajinder Singh and his small contingent of about 200 men successfully delayed the advance of a much larger force of <u>Pakistani tribal raiders</u> supported by its Army near <u>Uri</u> for several days, during which Maharaja Hari Singh acceded to India and the Indian forces were sent for the protection of Kashmir. On 30 December 1949, he was posthumously awarded <u>Maha Vir Chakra</u>, independent India's second highest military decoration. He was the first Indian to receive the honour.

Those who were present on the occasion included Prof. Prakash Antahal (DSW), Prof. Monika Sethi, Chairperson, Campus Cultural Committee, Prof. Vishav Raksha, former Chairperson, Campus Cultural Committee, Prof. Sarika Manhas, Co-Chairperson, Campus Cultural Committee, Dr. Anil Gupta, Associate Dean (SW), Dr. Garima Gupta & Dr. Pritam Singh, Assistant Deans (SW), Dr. Shallu Sharma & Dr. A.R. Manhas, Deputy Proctors, Dr. Sanjay Gupta, Dr. Virender Koundal, Dr. Sandeep Singh, Dr. Tsering Yangzom, Dr. Pallavi Sachdeva, Dr. Satyapriya, Dr. Ripudaman Parihar, Dr. S.R. Dubey, Mr. Sumeet Sharma, Ms. Ifra Kak, Dr. Bhushan, Dr. Umesh, Mr. Somraj, Mr. R.S. Bandral, Mr. Joginder Singh, Mr. Balwant Slathia and R.P. Singh.