24th of October, 2018.

The Department of Students Welfare, University of Jammu organized 15th National Youth Parliament Programme at Gen. Zorawar Singh Auditorium. The programme was conducted under the aegis of Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Govt. of India to strengthen the roots of democracy, to inculcate the habit of discipline and to enable the student community to understand the working of our parliamentary institutions. Sh. Shamsher Singh Manhas, Member of Parliament in Rajya Sabha was the Chief Jury Member. Prof. Govind Singh from Central University of Jammu was the Academician Jury Member and Sh. K. Venketesan from Jawaharlal Nehru Rajkeeya Mahavidyalaya, Pondicherry was the Group Coordinator and Dr. Vijay Saigal, Dept. of Law, University of Jammu was the coordinator of 15th National Youth Parliament Competition 2018. Sh. Shamsher Singh Manhas, MP appreciated the participants for their impressive performance as their confidence was reflecting the hard work they have put in to make this event successful. He further gave real-life inputs to participants. He also emphasized that in Parliament, Opposition is as much important as the Ruling Party. Prof Govind Singh lauded the efforts and the execution of the proceedings of the Parliament by the students. Prof. Keshav Sharma, Dean Academic Affairs, University of Jammu complemented the students and the coordinators for such a brilliant performance. Sh. K. Venkatesan remarked that this is one of the effeciently organized Youth Parliament Sitting by the students he has witnessed in this session. He praised the topics selected in discussion in the youth parliament. Different proceedings of the parliament like Oath taking, Obituary Reference, Introduction of New Ministers, Question Hour, Breach of Privilege, Papers laid, Message from Upper Chamber, Welcoming Foreign Delegates, Calling Attention Motion and Legislative Business were very effectively presented by the students of different departments of the University of Jammu within 55 minutes. Earlier in his welcome address, Prof. Shailender Singh Jamwal, Dean Students welfare apprised about the idea behind conducting such programmes. He informed that the Department of Students Welfare is always keen to organize such events of great utility for the students and stakeholders. Dr. Vijay Saigal explained in detail the idea behind organizing youth parliament programme throughout the country. Prof. S.K. Pandita, Chairman Campus Cultural Committee presented the formal vote of thanks.