

26th Feb. 2022

Science Literary Fest under Week-Long Festival of Science & Technology

A scintillating Science Literature Festival was organized on 26th February, 2022 under Week-Long Festival of Science & Technology at General Zorawar Singh Auditorium, University of Jammu. Several literary and cultural items were presented during the festival which was divided into morning & afternoon sessions. Prof. Manoj K. Dhar, Vice Chancellor, University of Jammu was the Chief Guest at the occasion, Prof. Naresh Padha, Dean Academic Affairs was also present on the occasion. Prof. Vishav Raksha, Chairperson, Campus Cultural Committee introduced the event to the audience which was designed to provide cultural/literary stimulus to the participating students. Prof. Rajni Kant, Convenor VP, in his welcome address informed about the overall celebrations of the science week. Interactive, informative and enlightening lectures on Science & Literature were given by eminent literary personalities from science stream, Prof. Lalit Magotra, Sahitya Academy Awardee, President Dogri Sanstha and Sh. O.P. Sharma, Sahitya Academy Awardee, Indian Forest Service, Retd. PCCF which was followed by Screening of informative Documentary films from CSIR-IIIM. In the afternoon session, Dr. Deepali Wattal from Institute of Music & Fine Arts brilliantly performed Folk & Ghazal Singing which was followed by mesmerizing flute recital by Sh. Rakesh Anand. Dr. Mukteshi Sharma, an accomplished singer of JKUT and Alumni of Display Your Talent by the Department of Students Welfare, University of Jammu presented soulful Classical Singing. 'A Tribute to Pandit Birju Maharaj', a distinctive 'Kathak' Performance was performed by Dr. Priya Dutta alongwith other faculty members and students of Institute of Music & Fine Arts. Meritorious students of Poetry Writing competition during Science Week Celebrations recited their poems on the themes Science & Culture & Science as stepping stone of humanity which included Diksha Sharma, Gurpreet Kaur and Harsha Sharma. Dr. Sarika Manhas, member, CCC presented the vote of thanks.

The event was organised under the guidance of Prof. Prakash Antahal (Dean Students Welfare), Prof. Vishav Raksha (Chairperson, Campus Cultural Committee), Prof Sanjana Kaul, (Co-Chairperson, Campus Cultural Committee) Prof. B.K. Bajaj, (Associate Dean Students Welfare), Dr. Garima Gupta, Dr. Pritam Singh, (Assistant Deans Students Welfare), members of Campus Cultural Committee and was ably conducted by Dr. Suvidha Khanna.